The Ralph & Betty Gustafson Poetry Trust

The Ralph and Betty Gustafson Trust was established at Vancouver Island University in 1998 from the estate of the late Ralph Gustafson (1909 – 1995), one of Canada’s pre-eminent poets.

With the support of his widow Betty Gustafson, the Trust endows an annual Chair of Poetry at Vancouver Island University, which is devoted to advancing Canadian poetry and supporting deserving poets.

1999 Inauguration participants – Kate Braid, Gary Geddes, Robert Kroetsch, David Manicom, Susan Musgrave, William New, Alfredo Rizzardi, Wendy Robbins, Kevin Roberts, Ron Smith, Sharon Thesen.


1999 Patricia Young
2000 Susan Musgrave
2001 Gary Geddes
2002 Patrick Lane
2003 Robert Bringhurst
2004 Liz Lochhead
2005 Don Domanski
2006 Dionne Brand
2007 Tom Wayman